Got Green Milk?


My first post…arghhhh!

Ok, seriously…on my way to work earlier this week I was startled by a bus advert with the lovely image of Ryan Reynolds all dolled up in his Green Lantern suit but with a milk moustache and the slogan “Hero Fuel” beside him. My first thought was “but he’s not even real.” Why would they suggest that his ‘hero’ fuel was milk? Sure, milk has great nutritional benefits but certainly none that would turn an ordinary citizen into a hero. It took a few seconds for my brain to understand that the advert had nothing to do with getting children to drink milk – suggesting that a food item would give anyone superhuman strength has been done and overdone (spinach anyone?). The advert is clearly a marketing ploy by the good people at DC Comics to keep the movie fresh in our minds seeing as the opening date is only a few weeks away. My next thoughts were “shame, shame, shame on them” but then I realised I might have been a bit too harsh on them. After all, the milk campaign adverts have been running for a long time in theUSand this is not the first time anyone has used a seemingly innocent item to sell a product or idea. But I still think Olympic athletes and David Beckham types are more reasonable icons to use for the ads, not superhuman characters.

This got me thinking about what other superheroes or unrealistic fictional characters have sacrificed their integrity for the milk drinking campaign. The campaign is run in American with the slogan “Got Milk” and the much more recent British version is “Make Mine Milk” but they are basically the same thing. Milk moustache and celebrity = more people drinking milk. Below (an pictures above) are the fruits of my search. Some of the ads made me smile, others not so much (“White magic”? Really? Really?) but I still think it’s a cheeky campaign.

Make Mine Milk

Green Lantern – Hero fuel

Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley of Harry Potter) – White magic

The A Team – Drink up fools

Got Milk

Dark Knight (Batman)

The Cheerleader aka Hayden (Heroes)

Hiro (Heroes)

Wolverine (X-men)

Jean Grey (X-men)

Mario (Supermario Brothers)

Superman

Fantastic Four

Autin Powers

    • Chi Chi luvin
    • May 20th, 2011

    Hilarious! Come to think of it, why don’t these commercials ever specify the type of milk. Should be “got skim milk?” or even “got 2% milk?” Or what if I’m lactose intolerant, eh? What’s it gonna be? “Make mine Lactaid?” Pish!
    I personally was distracted by Ryan Reynolds ridiculously sculpted body (can’t quite get over the green glare though… makes me suspicious about the movie premier) and really did not feel any inclination to drink the “white elixir” subsequently. Ok, maybe to lick it off his lip (hey, I’m just saying… all is fair. This IS a blog, right?)
    Which poses the question? How could Scarlett leave him for Sean freaking Penn?!
    Seriously. SERIOUSLY
    PS. I love you trixycae and can’t wait for this page to reach the sky! XOXO Gossip girl.

    • Hee hee. I was trying not to mention his body and focus on the rest of the ad but you said it! Silly Scarlett.

      • ethanarc
      • May 21st, 2011

      (sigh)….seeing as the author would subsequently BAN me from this blog if i make my equivalavent of your lip-cking comment toward that Hayden Pannetiere pic i’ll just leave that for now 😄

      & as for Scarlett leaving him for Penn (sigh) sadly girl, all these hollywood chics are looking for the guy they used to crush on when they were in High-School or something e.g.

      Megan Fox & Bryan Austin Green aming a buttload of others

      Let’s just leave the fact that i know someone who’ll maim HIM for leaving Robin Wright (Lol)

    • razoo3214
    • May 20th, 2011

    Frying man!!! Had almost forgotten about him 🙂

    Good point @Chi Chi luvin. I say start your own compaign! “Look away…look back…Skimmed milk…look away…look left…look back…semi skimmed…look away…look right…look back…full cream….look away…ok wrong ad!”

    I predict the next super hero to sell himself will be Captain America. Maybe the serum he was injected with was really…you guessed it…MILK!

    PS – the A team are unrealistic fictional characters? really? really? Or you just wanted a pic of Bradley Cooper 😉

    • Eh, the two finest men in Hollywood at the moment are Ryan and Bradley (although that Aussie guy from Thor is a edging his way onto the list) and as they both did milk campaigns, they were going to be on the post. Lets be honest, the A Team characters are as unrealistic as they get…but we still love them. Maybe milk gave Hannibal his brains, BA his bulging biceps, Face his great teeth and Murdoch…well, mad cow disease?

    • ethanarc
    • May 21st, 2011

    Shame on you Woman, SHAME!! How DARE YOu Smash My Dreams! Do you know just how much milk i was aout to Consume???!
    I was prepped to go snatch up & cow & install that heffer in my Yard WOMAN!! 😄

    Anyway, yes the “GOT MILK” thing has been on for soooooooooo long now i don’t even think i notice it anymore. Let’s leave the hilarity behind why they always feel if they do something for U.K they must make it different from the original…but not Really & vice versa: “Got Milk”/”Make Mine Milk”

    (sigh)
    Awkward marketing tactics like that always make me Lmao

    P.S
    See you chickened out & changed your 1st post from That Twilight/True Blood write-up; Was it because of all the Threats i gave you? HMMMM??!!! (Lmao)

    P.P.S
    How In The Heck did this post change so Fast into discussing “The Hottest Men In Hollywood”

    • The other post will show up…soonish, lol. It’s just stewing for a bit. And there is always a reason to recognise the good faces of the men in Hollywood – always!

      • ethanarc
      • May 22nd, 2011

      God, just re-reading my post & it’s like TYPO CITY & s**t! (Lmao)

    • Okechukwu Udogu (Okey)
    • May 21st, 2011

    Hahahaha!!! whadup sis’!! amazing you have this. I love it. By the way, I believe the first ‘Got Milk’ ad was done my Naomi Campbell…. lots of kids drinking milk and improving calcium intake and strong teeth and bones is not a bad thing. Heroes is the way to go, since celebs these days are all full of drama anyways. Watching this page from now on. One love!!! xoxo

    • Thanks! I’ll try to keep up the posts.

      • ethanarc
      • May 22nd, 2011

      Oh Yeeeeeeaaah! Actually remember the Naomi one vaugely…God that aaaages ago

    • CaramelD
    • July 17th, 2011

    The Milk campaigns scare me because try as I might, no matter how slowly or which glass I use, I don’t have a milk moustache like that so what gives?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

