Can you top my 6?


A follow up to my Can you top my 28? post from September. I thought I did okay having read just over 1 in 4 of the books on that list so when the official list for World Book Night 2012 was released earlier this week, I was excited about the prospects of my ratio going up.

http://www.worldbooknight.org/about-world-book-night/wbn-2012/the-books

And yes, I was happy to note I have read 6 out of 25. Yay! Not quite 1 in 4 but close.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (loved it but then I love almost all Austen books)

The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho (overrated but not a bad book)

A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens (sad sad book but a good read)

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella (infuriating protagonist but I’ve read all the books in the series bar one so that’s saying something)

The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffeneger (very dark but good story, don’t watch the movie, read the book!)

Good Omens – Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman (probably my favourite on the list, really funny, dark and strangely thought provoking)

I think I have read Rebecca but can’t quite remember it so I haven’t added it to my list. Also I’m a huge Steven King fan so I’ve watched Misery but, again, can’t remember if I read it so I’ve taken it off my list.

Can anyone top my 6?

[If the list includes movies adaptations I’ve watched, my count goes up to 10]

    • razoo3214
    • October 25th, 2011

    Read only 3…7 if we count movie adaptations. Why isn’t ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett on the list? I’ll campaign for it next year!

  1. Looks like it was on the top 100 list but didn’t make it to the 25. We’ll vote for it next year.

    • Ann
    • October 25th, 2011

    I’ve read 9… I capture the castle is really good…

  2. You keep beating me! Ok I’ll have to go read more…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

