Stranger Than Fiction


Last week I was surprised to learn that the former Italian Prime Minister Berlusconi will soon be releasing his – wait for it – fourth studio album. Who knew he could even sing? Apparently he worked as a cruise ship singer when he was in university and was also a bass player. I know I shouldn’t be so amazed by this piece of information but I am always taken aback when I discover what I consider unusual accomplishments that celebrities/people in the public eye have achieved. Of course this doesn’t always apply. Whenever I hear that actors and actresses can also sing (take Gwyneth Paltrow’s mind blowing performance in Glee or Scarlett Johansson’s impressive singing in her collaborative album with Pete Yorn), I don’t usually care because I assume they all learnt how to do so in whatever acting school they attended in their youth (although Pierce Brosnan disproved that theory with his abysmal singing in Mamma Mia). But throw in something slightly more interesting and I’m stuck on my PC googling for hours, umming and ahhing as I have been doing today.

Below are a few interesting facts I’ve discovered whilst writing this post. I’m sure I’ll unearth more in the next few days if I keep at it but I should probably stop…

  • (Prime Minister) Silvio Berlusconi – ex cruise ship singer about to release his fourth albums. Also co-wrote AC Milan’s anthem.
  • (Actress) Natalie Portman – studied Psychology at Harvard University.
  • (Model) Lily Cole – awarded a Double First in History of Art at the University of Cambridge.
  • (Actor) Taylor Lautner – ranked number one in his category by the American Sports Karate Association when he was under the age of ten. Earned his first black belt at the age of eight.
  • Ken Jeong (from The Hangover et al) – is a physician with a medical degree from The University of North Carolina.
  • Gerard Butler – trained to be a lawyer at Glasgow University.
  • Rowan Atkinson – has an Electrical Engineering degree from Oxford University.
  • Brian May (Queen) – Astrophysicist with a PhD from Imperial College
  • Dolph Lungren – has an IQ of 160, a bachelor’s degree from Sweden’s Royal Institute of Technology and a master’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Sydney and was awarded a Fulbright scholarship to study at MIT.
    • Anonymous
    • November 21st, 2011

    After graduating from the University of Pennsylvania, John Legend worked as a management consultant for the Boston Consulting Group.

    • I bet a lot of people have far more interesting backgrounds than we realise and yet all we ever know of them is what we have been presented with to promote their present image. Shame.

  1. (sigh)…..Thank GOD they all discovered the entertainment industry & didn’t go on to do all that boring non-important shit that they studied Riiiight? (Lol)

    Well, except for that Lautner kid; think he should have kept his shirt on-or better yet, his GI on & kept to giving people roundhouses to the face. Think I would have liked him better then

    😄

  2. If only we could all go off and not do the boring non-important stuff…its never too late to switch careers! Look at Morgan Freeman.

  3. I didn’t know that Taylor Lautner (*drool*) was a black belt! I guess that explains a lot… (*drooldrooldrool*)

    Anyway, I never thought about the background of those people. It is really interesting to know this kind of things!

    • Double drool! Don’t get me started on Taylor. Funny enough that was one of the facts I already knew before I started doing research for this post.

      • “Double Drool”….Double EW! to BOTH of You! (Lol)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

