ID please!


Ah, the paradox of my childlike  face. I have always been pretty small and always looked young for my age, so over the years I’ve been asked a variety of silly questions that have both amused and irritated me. People look at me and make ludicrous assumptions, then voice their thoughts without thinking. At first it was funny but as the years have gone by and my frown lines have increased, I have become more and more fed up of the same old comments (some might say bitter but I’m yet to cross that line). After another series of recent oopsies, I decided to post a few of the most memorable comments I’ve received. I’m sure I’ll be adding a few more to these when I remember anymore.

– being asked by a lecturer on my first day of university as I sat in class with my course mates, “Little girl, are you looking for your sister? Come back after the lecture”. To be fair I was 16 at the time but still…

– being asked for my ID at a bar entrance when I was the oldest of the ten other people I was standing with. I was 25 at the time. Actually, let’s change that to being asked for my ID almost all the time at clubs and bars and supermarket checkout tills, but I’ve stopped taking offence these days so this one almost doesn’t count.

– being asked for my ID when I went to buy  teaspoons at a store. Apparently they don’t sell cutlery to people under the age of 16. I was 28 at the time.

– being overlooked by a prospective employer as I sat waiting to go into an interview, followed by “I’m so sorry, I thought it couldn’t possibly be you”, that is after she had walked past me twice. I was 30 at the time.

– being asked my age in an interview by another prospective employer because she couldn’t understand how my experience and my face could match up (is that even illegal?). I was 30 at the time.

– being asked by a new colleague on my first day of work, “Are you on work placement for your school?”. I was 30 at the time.

– being asked by another new colleague on my first day of work, “Did you just come out of college?”. I was 30 at the time.

One day…

    • Razoo3214
    • December 20th, 2011

    Hahahahahaha…..

    They all want your elixir of eternal youth.

    • If only I could sell it to Garnier or someone like that…I just got another age comment today! This one wasn’t so bad. From the person’s words, they must have thought I was 23. That beats 16! 🙂

    • cee
    • December 21st, 2011

    Wow! It must be very annoying to keep getting these remarks over and over. The only good thing is that when you are 60+ people will assume you are decades younger and won’t begrudge you clubbing or doing any fun thing old people aren’t supposed to do ;)!

    • Nice! (Lol)

    • Or I can become a cougar! Ha ha. Trying to picture myself clubbing at 60…tragic!
      Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

  1. ‘being asked by a lecturer on my first day of university as I sat in class with my course mates, “Little girl, are you looking for your sister? Come back after the lecture”.’

    MWaaaahahhahahahahaahaaHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! I’m sorry, I basically doubled over laughing when I read this; keep in mind I was imagining you when you were at Cardiff not when you were 16

    As for the New-Job Colleages’, I would have loved to see your face each time they made their comments 🙂

    ‘(some might say bitter but I’m yet to cross that line).’

    You’ll probably skip THIS step & just snap

    • I knew you’d have something to say about this post 🙂 My favourite memory is still the spoon sale.

  2. The upside is that at 50 your kids will be so wound up when people ask them if you are their ‘sister’. Someone pulled that with my Mum and I the other day, I was not impressed.

    • I better get on and have the kids then so they’ll be a good comparable age when I’m 50! Hee hee

  3. It continues…I just got ID’d as I tried to buy a non-alcoholic malt drink! When will it end?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

