Going Potty


Fourteen years and six months after the first book in the series was published (yes, I checked), I picked up my copy of  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s  Stone and immersed myself in the all too popular world of witches and wizards. As an avid reader of epic fantasy, most of my friends find it strange that it has taken me so long to get onboard the Hogwarts Express but I’m finally there and I have to admit that I’m not sure why I didn’t read the books before. The copies I have at the moment were sent to me from across the Atlantic because my older sister read the series and knew that I would like them, and yet I left them collecting dust on my book shelf for over a year. I didn’t have any serious objection to the series and I have seen all the movies (except for the last two) but for some reason, I resisted and resisted till my younger sister beat me to it and started to read the first book. She is a lot more selective about what she reads than I am so when I saw that she was enjoying the book, I knew there was hope. Three weeks on and I’m halfway through the third book  (it helps when you have all seven books and don’t have to wait a couple of years for each one to be released).

I’m not sure why but I was shocked to find that the stories are simply written and easy to follow. Then someone pointed out to me that they were written for children. Duh! That explains why it feels like I am reading an Enid Blyton series, but not in a bad way.  So my impression so far, I find Harry very annoying with his famous scar, adventurous streak and indifference to saying the name Voldermort when clearly he should be petrified of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. I really liked Ron because he’s funny and pretty much a normal kid and I’m sure my 10-year-old self would have had a crush on his character – sadly we all know what Rupert Grint looks like so that’s off the table (sorry Rupert). I can’t wait for him and Hermione to develop their romance (so far there is no hint of this in the books I’ve read but that’s what you get for watching movies before reading books). Hermoine reminds me a little bit of myself, with the constant horrified reactions to rule-breaking and the excessive meticulous obsessions (thankfully I am not so much of an annoying know-it-all).

What keeps bugging me as I read on is that I can’t remember much of the story from the movies or what the movie characters look like – apart from Harry, Ron, Hermione and Snape (oh, I do love me some Alan Rickman, mmmmmmmmm). I know it shouldn’t matter but somehow it does. I’ve consulted my phone a few times in bed when I come across a new character and can’t remember what they look like (Lupin who?) and when I’ve done this, I’ve been stunned by how much the actors have changed over the years. Take Malfoy for example, I thought he’d grow up to be a stunner but – ehem – no! Even Neville looks much more strapping than him these days (thank God for IMDb).  Apart from the insanely inappropriate countdown to when Emma Watson became “legal” (shocking, I say – yes, it was The Sun) I’m sure only teenage boys and girls will follow the careers of the real life actors from now on. Unless they go on to achieve something more monumental than being in that cast.

Anyway, back to the books. I don’t want to write much about them because I got a nasty shock recently when I clicked on a blog I follow and read the names of all the characters that meet their end in later books (oops, spoiler) and I don’t want to ruin it for anyone else. Guess I’ll be writing another post when I’m done with the series. Stay tuned.

  1. “thankfully I am not so much of an annoying know-it-all”

    ………………………..uh-hmmm

    (Roflmao) J.K Cookie 😀

    & as for you not really remembering the character’s look from movies/Keeping away so long before you read the books, I think it may be one of those things where…

    when something 1st comes out & there’s a craze about it, there’s a certain period of time before 1 of a few things happen:

    1. You get on board
    2. You Loathe it just because you feel people ARE making too much noise about it & feel like you should get even
    3.You make a sub-conscious decision to kind of keep away from it or not really invest in it so you don’t get disappointed or something else

    Think you kinda fell into that 3rd category. So when you watch the movies you watched them kind of like ‘just another movie you watch for fun’ not something you’ll invest in.

    & as for the way th books are written…well, this isn’t a spoiler but……

    She kind of updates the themes & style as the kids in the book grow.
    It’s suttle & it’s done pretty well.

    Hope you enjoy the rest of it like I did babe

    X)

    • We’ll see. Done with book three and really liked the twist. On to four.

    • Razoo3214
    • January 14th, 2012

    Harry is such a bad student…breaking rules, never paying attention in class, copying off other’s homework or making them up…. If I were a parent i i would make sure my kids looked up to Hermione instead.

    • Which is why we all need a little bit of Hermoine in us…not a lot, just some.

  2. P.S

    In book 7, Ms.Granger is like an under the radar Super Hero! loved her in that book, Seriously!

    • Chi Chi luvin
    • January 27th, 2012

    Having read all seven books (you are welcome girls), I must confess to being one of the “what the heck is all the fuss about” pre-readers. I had stumbled on the Harry Potter movies more than once on telly and I agree, could not for the life of me remember who was who or what was what. If anything, it felt like the twilight movies do now re: am I the only one who thinks the lead character is a total drag?
    In the after math of reading book seven, I must say the effort the writer made to attract a more mature audience towards the end was quite fruitful. My jaw dropped with the sudden “demise” of several key characters. Who knew it would be such a good read?
    I think in a way having watched the movies fills your mind with the faces and settings in the book, but alot of scenes make sense in retrospect. Abi?
    My synopsis? Harry- Grow the hell up! You would be dead many times over without your friends, alittle appreciation perhaps?
    Hermione- Calm down, if the blue cap doesn’t go on the blue marker, time will certainly not stop
    Ron- “Harry, our love will go on forever”
    Voldermont- Really? You can vanquish everyone in the entire world but not a pesky teenager? Really? REALLY?!

    Will wait till your done with the entire series for full “book club” discussion. Enjoy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

