World Book Night – 23rd April 2012


Some of you might have read about my experience from World Book Night 2011 in my blog post Stop and Stare . Well, over a year has gone by (where did the time go?) and tonight is World Book Night 2012. A million copies of 25 books (click here for full book list) will be given away by volunteers in the UK, USA, Ireland and Germany. It appears the event has expanded since last year! I am not involved in giving away books this time – one night of shoving books in people’s faces outside a tube station is enough for me – but I thought I should mention the event this year so that people can look out for random people handing out books and empathise with them. They are FREE and there is no catch to taking them. All that is asked of you is to read them and pass on so that adult literacy is improved.

The book list is eclectic and ranges from romance classics like Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice to new tales like Sophie Kinsella’s The Secret Dreamworld of A Shopaholic, from renowned horrors like Steven Kings’s Misery to funny fantasies like Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens (one of my favourites on the list). There is a Dahl book on there as well and an Ishiguro.  I am ashamed to note I have only read 7 of the books (and watched just a few more movie adaptations) so I will be looking out for volunteers on my way home today.

One more thing to note is the reason for the change to 23rd April this time and not March as last year? The organisers chose today because it is the birth and death day of Shakespeare, amongst other notable literary eventful landmarks that are celebrated today.  More information on this (and the community outreach programmes the event encourages) can be found on the events website. See link above.

Well, that’s all folks. Happy reading everyone!

  1. I saw a bookmark at my local library about World Book Night and they had no idea what it was about. Lol. Hopefully I can find out more about it for next year.

    • It was a lot of fun to get involved last year, albeit a bit out of my comfort zone. Definitely worth investigating for next year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

