Pet Peeves List #1


courtesy of freedigitalphotos_Mister GC

Only 5 at the moment but you know this list will grow…

  1. People who chuck out an entire kettle of boiled water because re-boiling it means it loses its oxygen! Wasting a whole kettle of water! I DO NOT CARE ABOUT DEOXYGENATED WATER FOR MY TEA! It’s only a cup of tea! The number of times I’ve had to bite my tongue when I boil a kettle at work, nip out of the kitchen for a bit only to return to find someone boiling a fresh batch. Urgh!
  2. All those lovely ladies who wear high heels and stumble/waddle as a result. If you are going to cause observers to have a mini heart attack with every step you take, then don’t wear heels. Accept your height or practise in your room until you can grace the world with an acceptable walk (for the record, I occasionally wear heels so I am allowed to make this comment).
  3. The First World myth that reheating food is bad for you. Someone went as far as admitting to me that he thinks chicken tastes funny the day after so he always chucks his leftovers. Really? All chicken dishes? I stopped myself from asking if he kept the cooked chicken in a cupboard or something. It’s different if the argument is that food loses its nutritional value with multiple heat applications. Or if it is cream or something that actually smells like it has gone off. I know there have been countless cases of food poisoning from reheated food but, if your fridge/freezer is cool enough and your oven/microwave/hob nukes the meal to a reasonable degree, there is absolutely nothing to fear. I (and a few million people in the world) am living proof of this!
  4. Don’t get me started on false reviews. And I am not talking about reviews for my books. Stupid reviews in general. I once read a review on Amazon where the person admitted to not reading the book but gave it a single star rating because she thought she wouldn’t like it. Seriously???!!! Someone on Goodreads reviewed a book that hasn’t been released based on its cover. She gave it five stars. Why? Because the content is the same as the cover? Who are these people?
  5. And finally, joggers in central London who give pedestrian evil glares at rush hour. I was walking to work one morning and stopped to cross the road at a traffic light. A jogger from behind almost ran into me and swore profusely before continuing on his jog. Clearly if he was not so focused on jogging and had considered the fact that regular walking people have to stop and wait at traffic lights, he would have realised the idiocy of his anger.  He was not the first jogger I’d encountered who expressed rage over pedestrians being in their way. It’s a freaking pavement – if you want to jog in central London with no one in your way at 8.45 in the morning, find a park!

Rant over. And I feel so much better!

    • L
    • September 29th, 2014

    notice this women esp. who think they have the right to walk backwards without checking for incoming traffic. come on are you a toddler or do you have invisible eyes at the back of your head or do you think everyone reads your mind or maybe the world revolves around you.

    • They definitely think the world revolves around them! People can be really inconsiderate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

